IMPORTANT WEB PAGES,2960,22558,00.html



       Before 1989 the world was bipolar, or made up of two major world powers.

       These two major world powers were The United States and The USSR.

       Today the world is no longer bipolar but unipolar, or made up of one major world power.

       That world power is The United States of America.


NATO = North Atlantic Treaty Organization

       North Atlantic Treaty signed in Washington on April 4th 1949 to counter the Iron Curtain created in Europe by the USSR.

       Member countries include: Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States.

       The Czech Republic, Poland, and Hungary were once a part of the Warsaw Pact, which was made up of communist nations, but when communism fell in these nations they were admitted into NATO.

       The Czech Republic, Poland

       In 1954 the Federal Republic of Germany was admitted into NATO, and this made the USSR uncomfortable.

       In 1989 with great influence from NATO, the Berlin Wall fell in Germany.

       This can be seen as the official END of the Cold War.

       The North Atlantic Treaty Organization is still going strong today, and is currently heading the situation in Yugoslavia.



       Signed in 1954 by the USSR and its satellites to counter NATO.

       This signing can be seen as the official START of the Cold War.

       The Warsaw Pact is made up of communist nations with the USSR as its leader.

       In 1991 just two years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, the Warsaw Pact ended.



      The President of Yugoslavia is Mr. Slobodan Milosevic.

      He is currently resisting NATO attacks, refusing to stop the slaughtering in Kosovo.

      NATO is heading the attack on Yugoslavia, and has not stopped its bombing runs on Belgrade, the nations capital.