Answers to Gitelson Chapter 10: Congress Materials (F19, only 8 questions)


M1.   U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Senate

M4.   100

M5.   435

M6.   6 years

M7.   2 years

M8.   2

M10. state

M14. 535





There are two houses of the California State Legislature. One house is the State Assembly, the other is the State Senate.


Like the U.S. House of Representatives, the State Assembly is called the “lower house” since its members serve a lower number of years than the members of the “upper house.” 


Like the U.S. Senate, the California State Senate is called the “upper house.”


State Assembly

There are 80 Assembly members in the State Legislature. They are referred to as Assemblyperson, Assemblyman, or Assemblywoman. Each elected Assemblyperson serves a term of 2 years. The area that an Assemblyperson serves is called an Assembly District (AD).


State Senate

There are 40 State Senators in the State Legislature. Each elected State Senator serves a term of 4 years. The area that a State Senator serves is called a Senate District (SD).









Answers to LEGISLATORS—CONGRESS (22 only 8 questions)


L1.   U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Senate

L4.   100

L5.   435

L6.   6 years

L7.   2 years

L8.   2

L10. state

L14. 535